Skip to content

Video Blog from Angela Ruggiero: How I Use Social Media

09/29/2009

Distinguished Lecture Panelist and a three-time Olympic medalist Angela Ruggiero weighs in on how she uses social media on her new YouTube channel.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph MacKay permalink
    10/15/2009 8:52 pm

    I am a PhD student at the University of Ottawa, in Ontario, Canada and in my doctoral dissertation, I am examining how sportswomen re-present themselves on the Internet (blogs, sns sites, websites, videos, etc.) Sportswomen are still underrepresented and marginalized in traditional mass and non-profit media texts. However, I argue that they are starting to turn to Internet driven forms of resistance/response to counter these messages.

    Through my Internet surfing, I have seen that women who are resisting/responding to mainstream discursive constructions of gendered bodies are doing so with a heightened sense of awareness of those very discursive constructions. I will explore this in more depth in my dissertation. To accomplish this, I plan to collaborate with the women who have produced atypical texts as well as with women who have responded to these texts.

    I am very happy that I found this link and I will be tuning in to the discussion Monday evening!

    If anyone is interested in my research, please feel free to contact me.

    Thanks,
    Steph

    • 10/16/2009 2:21 pm

      Steph,
      Your research sounds very interesting and will be a real contribution to the literature. Keep us posted. Some of the Tucker Team will be at NASSS in Ottawa in November, so if you are attending let’s connect. -Nicole LaVoi, Associate Director, Tucker Center

Leave a Reply

